Skip to main content

2023 Scholarship Winners Selected!

Eight students awarded a total of $40,500 for academic pursuits

The Academy of Model Aeronautics (AMA) has helped graduating seniors achieve their dreams since 1970, with individual scholarships ranging from $500 to $8,000 each year. This year, $40,500 was awarded to students. Student scholarships are awarded each year thanks to the generous support of AMA members and AMA Foundation donors across the country. AMA has awarded over $1.3 million in scholarships since founding the scholarship program.

Award designations are set by the AMA Scholarship Committee, which is made up of model aviation pilots and enthusiasts. The committee evaluates each application and ranks it based on GPA, community involvement, model flying experience, and model flying competition participation.

AMA and its Foundation want to thank each family that has contributed to the memorial scholarships, as well as the hundreds of other donors to the scholarship program. Without their generous contributions, these gifts would not be possible.

AMA would like to congratulate the following students who have been selected this year to receive the Charles Hampson Grant Scholarship and other scholarships:

Carson McCachern (Edmond, OK): $8,000 Charles Hampson Grant Scholarship; $500 Ryan M. Sherrow Memorial Scholarship

Ashley Van Milligan (Colorado Springs, CO): $7,000 Charles Hampson Grant Scholarship

Greyson Pritchett (Muncie, IN): $1,000 Basil & Dorothy Cooper Scholarship; $5,000 Cliff & Nancy Telford Scholarship

Cooper Thompson (St. Simon's Island, GA): $5,000 Charles Hampson Grant Scholarship

Owen Karmel (Delmar, NY): $4,500 Charles Hampson Grant Scholarship

Tyler Pandis (Ladera Ranch, CA): $4,000 Charles Hampson Grant Scholarship

Trevor Harrison (Lapeer, MI): $3,000 Charles Hampson Grant Scholarship

Austin Ray (Cypress, TX): $2,500 Charles Hampson Grant Scholarship